PDA

View Full Version : topfield.rec files from 456



dedics
March 8th, 2006, 04:37 AM
Sorry, Dan, I've just tried a test
using 456 on my uk topfield 5800, and although the files transferred across and appeared accessible from the archives, neither played correctly.

I will upload the files to the ftp site for you to look at. (edit: I've just tried to upload the files but it seems to want to take a very long time, so I'll do you something smaller and upload that)

test1 is a section of a topfield.rec file which has just been chopped and saved using the .rec setting in the save options. This showed up as having content and time but only played a blank silent screen before coming up with service is scrambled or not present.

test2 is a section of a vrd mpg file re-saved in rec format, which showed as 0 mins but had 0.2Mb size and played a silent blank screen, but for the correct amount of time.

Have you been corresponding with the guys at toppy.org.uk, they may be able to provide more information about exactly what is in the various topfield header files. The topfield information about their headers is not very reliable/consistent and varies between the 5000 australian model and the 5800 uk model.

hope this helps, sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

dedics

DanR
March 8th, 2006, 07:02 AM
Have you been corresponding with the guys at toppy.org.uk, they may be able to provide more information about exactly what is in the various topfield header files. The topfield information about their headers is not very reliable/consistent and varies between the 5000 australian model and the 5800 uk model.
No, I haven't been corresponding with this folks. And sorry to say, I had no idea there was a difference between the models. Now I'm really messed up because I've merged all the .rec files into one folder for testing.

Maybe we can get some feedback from 5800 users since the last file I tested on came from a 5800.


Ugh....

dedics
March 9th, 2006, 03:31 AM
I'm in the uk with a topfield 5800, so those tests I sent you from me were on the uk model.

I'll raise the issue on toppy.org.uk forum and see what the response is.

I can also correct the test I sent you yesterday using projectX and see if that fixes things.

It seems to me you were closer with the previous attempt at the .rec file header than with this one.

dedics

DanR
March 9th, 2006, 07:01 AM
Do you have the original file for Test1.rec, i.e. before editing?

dedics
March 9th, 2006, 08:47 AM
sorry, I'm too tidy minded and got rid of it...

I've uploaded the "mended with projectx" files, which play ok on my toppy and a readme describing what I've done , and I'm working on getting permission to send you a file with what the toppy.org.uk folks know about the header which I hope will help.

If I do get permission, can I e-mail you with it or shall I put it on the ftp site? You can e-mail me at the address used for my vrd registration wih a contact e-mail if you prefer this.

Do you want me to create a freshly recorded file off the topfield then qsf it without edits,and output it with videoredo .rec?

dedics

DanR
March 9th, 2006, 10:53 AM
Just upload the freshly recorded file. We can do the QSF here :)

Just send the info by email to me at support@videoredo.com.

Thanks.

dedics
March 9th, 2006, 11:16 AM
OK dan, I'm uploading a testfile now called dedicstestoriginal.rec into beta456 tf5800 tests folder.

this is a straight 2 minute recording from the toppy.
Interestingly when I read it into vrd456 and saved it out as rec format, with no edits or any work on the file at all, when I read this file back into the toppy
it played a blank screen and the scrambled message came up.

I can upload the outputted vrd file too if you want.

dedics

DanR
March 9th, 2006, 03:33 PM
One more thing. On the Tools>Options>Transport, page do you have Use PDS from source file checked? If not, please give that a try.

Thanks.

dedics
March 9th, 2006, 06:40 PM
I have use pds from transport checked on the file I already sent,
I've never changed that.

dedics

DanR
March 10th, 2006, 07:54 AM
Dedics, Thanks for the uploads. In your readme.txt you mentioned:


test is the trimmed.rec file which has content and time but plays blank/ data scambled.When you did the trim did you set the start MByte to 0 and select the 3rd radio button? If you selected from Beginning the trim and copy probably lopped off the topfield header since it starts the copy at an MPEG2 header.

The trimmed .rec file should play OK on the Topfield before you upload it.

Thanks.

dedics
March 12th, 2006, 01:05 PM
Sorry for the delay in reply, I've been away for the weekend.

I wasn't aware I had to do anything to the trimmed file after editing, I just use cut mode and designate mark out and the front few seconds of adverts are trimmed off. I have never done any other processing than simple cuts and qsf's.

But I'd guess the most frequent use of vrd is to chop ads out of programmes and then put them back on the toppy, so no-one else would do any messing with re-setting bytes to 0.

dedics

dedics
March 12th, 2006, 01:26 PM
Sorry dan,
I haven't a clue how to reset bits and I don't know what you mean by the third radio button?

Where so I find these?

confused dedics

DanR
March 12th, 2006, 06:57 PM
dedics, Let me re-phrase.

1) Take an original .rec file and using Tools>Trim and Copy create a 20-50 mb clip. Make sure you select the 3rd radio button on the Trim and Copy screen and set the start MB to 0.

2) Take the new short file and load it back into the Toppy. Does it play properly? If not, let us know.

3) If it does play properly, run VideoReDo QSF on that file and output the file with the .rec format.

4) Does this play properly? Probably not.

5) Upload both files to our FTP site.

Thanks.

dedics
March 13th, 2006, 03:50 AM
OK will do
I'll report later.

dedics

dedics
March 13th, 2006, 04:11 AM
I've also just got permission to get you the rec header info that the topy.org guys have fathomed out. I'll upload that too.

dedics
March 13th, 2006, 04:30 AM
ok
I did the trim and copy for you, no edits at the beginning etc etc

the trimandcopytest plays ok on the topfield but the length of the recording comes up as 65mins instead of about 1 min

the trimandcopytestqsf displays a blank screen and scrambled service message but does show in the archive as the correct length.

Also when selecting an output stream source for the trim and copied file there are no options for file type shown, I just saved it as trimandcopytest.rec

The qsf was run without loading the trimandcopytest.rec into videoredo, just by selecting it from the relevant file folder on the pc.

I'm uploading both files now.

dedics

dedics
March 14th, 2006, 12:57 PM
They're in the beta456tf5800 folder now, Dan

Hope this helps.

dedics

DanR
March 16th, 2006, 07:23 AM
dedics, In your folder is a file, vrdtest5800.rec. Would you mind checking it out?

Thanks.

dedics
March 17th, 2006, 03:35 AM
I'm afraid it doesn't work Dan.

It shows up in the archive for the correct amount of MB and time but its blank screen/no sound and message scrambled still.

It plays at the correct speed I think. The file takes 15 seconds to run

Next time eh?

dedics

DanR
March 18th, 2006, 06:55 AM
medics, OK, one more time if you please. VrdTest5800_b.rec is on the FTP site.

Thanks.

dedics
March 18th, 2006, 12:08 PM
Success !!!!!


It played perfectly....

1 min duration, 34MB,no jitters

congratulations.

dedics

DanR
March 18th, 2006, 12:22 PM
Oh my god! I can't believe it works. OK, I've got some clean up to do and will then be able to post a beta, probably by tomorrow.

Thanks for your help.

If there are any Topfield 5000 users out there, please give this file a try. I think it might not play, but would like to check it out. My current thoughts are that we will need an option to specify the Topfield .rec type. 5000 or 5800. Are there any other Topfield format we should be aware of?

dedics
March 18th, 2006, 04:31 PM
do the topfield 5000 guys know the .rec

is called VrdTest5800_b.rec

and is in the folder
beta456 tf5800 tests t2210 on the ftp site

just in case its not clear.

dedics