PDA

View Full Version : Still having problems FF and RW DVR-MS files



Fro
March 22nd, 2006, 10:40 PM
Sorry if this is a rehash. I had seen other posts about this some time back but they all appeared to have just stopped as if their problems had been cleared up.

Anyhow, I am still having a problem when attempting to FF, RW, or skip in 30 sec increment using a DVR-MS file that has been edited and rerendered as a DVR-MS file. Once one of the mentioned buttons is pressed the video will either pause or remain in at a increased speed until the audio and video have caught back up again.

This occurs with NTSC (via Time Warner cable on a PowerColor 550 card) and ATSC (via OTA broadcasts with a vbox card) programming. I am currently using PureVideo 1.85 as my MPEG decoder.

I am using MCE2005 rollup 2 on my HTPC and editing said programming on a secondary PC running XP pro.

I have tested editing and playback with various sources edited with the last few iterations of VRD beta software.

Please let me know if you need more information from me or if I just need a little patience and it is just a known issue.

Thanks for your help.

FYI, additional specs:
AMD 64 3200
Gigabyte Mobo (nforce 3 chipset)
1 gig PC3200
record and playback on a secondary 500 gig 0 stripe RAID

Spyderturbo007
March 23rd, 2006, 01:40 PM
Is this the latest beta version? I am now able to stream edited dvr-ms files to my XBOX 360 using the latest build.

Fro
March 23rd, 2006, 02:03 PM
I am having this problem when attempting to play back these edited files on my primary MCE2005 machine. At this time I don't even have a xbox extender hooked up to my system.

I have tried editing and playing back DVR-MS files with every beta version that's been available for the last month and a half. (which is about the time I purchased VRD).

I am wondering if this is a problem with my system configuration or if other people are having this problem as well.

pistnbroke
March 23rd, 2006, 03:45 PM
I do not have any problems converting,saving and playing DVR-MS files. They all FF & Rewind correctly. The time is not always right in MCE but otherwise all is well on my machine... current Beta.

Fro
March 23rd, 2006, 05:10 PM
Thank you for your reply pistnbroke. I have a few questions if you don't mind me asking:

- What capture cards are you using? (and at what quality setting)

- What MPEG decoder are you using?

- Are you using rollup 2 MCE2005?

Thanks again.

pistnbroke
March 23rd, 2006, 06:20 PM
Thank you for your reply pistnbroke. I have a few questions if you don't mind me asking:

- What capture cards are you using? (and at what quality setting)

- What MPEG decoder are you using?

- Are you using rollup 2 MCE2005?

Thanks again.

I am in Australia,

I use 3 Digital cards in my HTPC on standard settings, but I do use Webscheduler for all my recordings:

1. Avermedia A16A
2. Twinhan DVB-T
3. Digitalnow

Currently using the Cyberlink decoder with all MCE patches..

DanR
March 23rd, 2006, 09:48 PM
I am in Australia,

I use 3 Digital cards in my HTPC on standard settings, but I do use Webscheduler for all my recordings:

1. Avermedia A16A
2. Twinhan DVB-T
3. Digitalnow

Currently using the Cyberlink decoder with all MCE patches..The latest beta has no known problem with FF and RW. The VideoReDo DVRMS files also play properly on our xbox360.

Do forward and backward skip worth for you or are they broken like FF and RW?

I assume that the original non-edited files FF and RW ok?

Any chance you can record a 2 minute file, insure that it doesn't FF/RW and then upload it our FTP site?

Fro
March 24th, 2006, 01:28 AM
Hi Dan,

I have uploaded 4 files to your FTP site under the subfolder "Fro". These four files are as follows:

-- South Park (Original).dvr-ms - The original recording from MCE2005.
*RESULTS - The file FF, RW, and skips with no problems.

-- South Park (reencoded not edited).dvr-ms - This is the was only loaded into VRD and and rerendered as DVR-MS with no edits and no changes to the original stream.
*RESULTS - The file will FF or RW, and skip but the video will remain at an increased speed maybe in an attempt to catch up with the audio.

-- South Park (reencoded not edited+fix).dvr-ms - This is the same file as above with the addition of QF.
*RESULTS - The file will FF or RW, and skip but the video will remain at an increased speed maybe in an attempt to catch up with the audio.

-- South Park (Edited).mpg - This is the original file with a small section removed from the middle then rendered back out. (no QF)
*RESULTS - The file will NOT FF or RW but the skip funtion works with no problems. FYI, this is the first time I've had this result.

One thing I thought I might also mention is that all four files are different sizes which was to be expected with the edited version but not the other three.

hansolo89
March 24th, 2006, 02:23 AM
i agree ff and rw still dont work and i've tried every beta for the last few months, the new beta also leaves dvr-ms videos out of sync too, the lag when fast forwarding is shorter now than before but it still leaves it out of sync

Spyderturbo007
March 24th, 2006, 07:07 AM
- What capture cards are you using? (and at what quality setting)

- What MPEG decoder are you using?

- Are you using rollup 2 MCE2005?

Thanks again.

I have had no problems with dvr-ms files, except for the program duration always being wrong.

1. Fusion 5 Lite, HD recordings only, via the DvICO application
Hauppauge WIN-TV PVR150MCE for analog recordings, via MCE interface

2. The only shipped with MCE (It is the only decoder I have installed)

3. Yes.

pistnbroke
March 24th, 2006, 07:16 AM
I have had no problems with dvr-ms files, except for the program duration always being wrong.

Same here... but it is right in Media Player, so it seems to be an MCE thing...

Fro
March 24th, 2006, 09:40 AM
Hi Dan,

I have uploaded 4 files to your FTP site under the subfolder "Fro". These four files are as follows:

-- South Park (Original).dvr-ms - The original recording from MCE2005.
*RESULTS - The file FF, RW, and skips with no problems.

-- South Park (reencoded not edited).dvr-ms - This is the was only loaded into VRD and and rerendered as DVR-MS with no edits and no changes to the original stream.
*RESULTS - The file will FF or RW, and skip but the video will remain at an increased speed maybe in an attempt to catch up with the audio.

-- South Park (reencoded not edited+fix).dvr-ms - This is the same file as above with the addition of QF.
*RESULTS - The file will FF or RW, and skip but the video will remain at an increased speed maybe in an attempt to catch up with the audio.

-- South Park (Edited).mpg - This is the original file with a small section removed from the middle then rendered back out. (no QF)
*RESULTS - The file will NOT FF or RW but the skip funtion works with no problems. FYI, this is the first time I've had this result.

One thing I thought I might also mention is that all four files are different sizes which was to be expected with the edited version but not the other three.

Dan,

It appears that I forgot to change my output settings on the "South Park (Edited)" file. I rendered it as a MPEG file which is why I couldn't FF or RW (DOH!).

Anyhow, I will edit the clip again and this time render it as a DVR-MS file and upload it to the same folder. Sorry I botched the most important file on the first run :).

I will have it to you tonight.

DanR
March 24th, 2006, 12:52 PM
Fro,

First the good news. We've fixed the duration problem.

The bad news is that all the DVR-MS files you uploaded, original and edited play just fine here on our Xbox360 extender. FF and RW, no problem.

So before you upload additional files, our DVRMS developer has asked for the following information:



Would you also ask him the versions of the following DLLs?
sbe.dll, sbeio.dll, encdec.dll and wmvcore2.dll (the last
one, only if present).
You'll find these files in the c:\windows\system32 folder. The version is displayed by right clicking on the file, and selecting properties. Then click on the "Version" tab.

Anyone else with similar problems, please post your version numbers as well.

Thanks.

hansolo89
March 24th, 2006, 01:33 PM
"Would you also ask him the versions of the following DLLs?
sbe.dll, sbeio.dll, encdec.dll and wmvcore2.dll (the last
one, only if present). "

this is what i have

sbe.dll - 6.5.2710.2732
sbeio.dll - 9.0.0.3165
encdec.dll- 6.5.2710.2732
wmvcore2.dll - n/a - only wmvcore.dll

DanR
March 24th, 2006, 03:28 PM
"Would you also ask him the versions of the following DLLs?
sbe.dll, sbeio.dll, encdec.dll and wmvcore2.dll (the last
one, only if present). "

this is what i have

sbe.dll - 6.5.2710.2732
sbeio.dll - 9.0.0.3165
encdec.dll- 6.5.2710.2732
wmvcore2.dll - n/a - only wmvcore.dll
Thanks. Those version are actually later than the ones on our test system.

Do you know which MPEG2 deocder / muxer is being used?

pistnbroke
March 24th, 2006, 04:33 PM
First the good news. We've fixed the duration problem.





Great news !!

Fro
March 24th, 2006, 07:52 PM
Dan,

Here is the information you requested:

sbe.dll - 6.5.2710.2732
sbeio.dll - 9.0.0.3165
encdec.dll- 6.5.2710.2732
wmvcore2.dll -N/A
wmvcore.dll - 10.0.0.4332

and I am using the PureVideo decoder version 1.02-1.85 - VRM9 mode

Fro
March 24th, 2006, 08:38 PM
Dan,

I did a little more experimenting and discovered that the video sync problem only occurs when the MPEG decoder (purevideo) is set to the VMR9. If I set it to Overlay mode everything seems to work properly.

I would prefer to keep it set to VMR9 as it is my understanding that this is the only way to take full advantage of the nVidia graphic cards GPU acceleration.

You think this is something that might be rectified in a future build?

FYI: I changed this setting by tuning in or playing MPEG footage then minimizing the MCE window. at this time you can see the NVIDIA emblem in the taskbar. I you open the icon you will find the decoder settings.

Fro
March 24th, 2006, 09:24 PM
It appears that I might have been a little quick in dismissing the problem although it is less pronounced when in Overlay mode it is still an issue when using longer files.

Please let me know if I can get you more information or files.

Thanks.

DanR
March 25th, 2006, 12:13 PM
We've installed the NVida Decoder here and the problem appears to be an interaction be the NVida Decoder and VRD edited files.

At least this helps us narrow things down.

Fro
March 27th, 2006, 03:41 PM
This is great news Dan.

If you don't mind me asking, what MPEG decoder were you guys using before?

Also, when do you think we might see an update in a beta build for an nVidia decoder compatibility fix?

DanR
March 27th, 2006, 03:43 PM
If you don't mind me asking, what MPEG decoder were you guys using before?
We were using the Elecard / Moonlight decoder. Also the Xbox 360 media extender which seems to work perfectly.


Also, when do you think we might see an update in a beta build for an nVidia decoder compatibility fix?Sorry, but we don't yet know what the specific problem is. Our dvrms developer is working on it as we speak.

Fro
March 27th, 2006, 04:47 PM
Thanks for your time and diligence. I really like your product and your community support is outstanding.

I will keep an eye out for this fix in future beta builds and will update you when I have had success.

Spyderturbo007
March 28th, 2006, 06:55 AM
I really like your product and your community support is outstanding.


+1 :cool:

DanR
April 5th, 2006, 07:08 PM
OK. New beta to be posted soon (Build 464). It seems to fix the FF / RW (for us at least). I hope you have similar luck.

Also, check out the closed captioning support.

Fro
April 6th, 2006, 10:36 PM
Dan,

I am having some issues with this latest build.

First, when playing standard def DVR-MS material within VRD the app crashes. I have tried mulitple files and they all end with the app crashing (FYI, each of the files crashes in a specific spot i.e. playing the same file repeatedly will crash VRD in the same place everytime. That place just happens to be different in each file). The app also crashes when I attempt to use the QF feature.

I had better luck with an HD DVR-MS file in that the application didn't crash but I was still not able to export the file as DVR-MS. VRD seemed to just hang on export. It exported about 100 meg then just stopped at "calculating remaining time".

Let me know if I can provide more information.

phd
April 6th, 2006, 10:52 PM
Does an earlier build result in successful processing with the same files?

Is anyone else having issues with DVR-MS files and V464?

pistnbroke
April 7th, 2006, 08:38 AM
No problems here, edited and converted 6 files tonight SD & HD, all worked well for me....

Fro
April 7th, 2006, 11:32 AM
I will check these files against a older VRD build tonight.

However, I have two questions:

1. Do I need to uninstall previous beta versions of VRD before installing the latest build?

2. Does it matter that I am edit these files on a second machine that is running XP pro instead of MCE2005?

phd
April 7th, 2006, 12:35 PM
1. No, you can install over the current installation.

2. It shouldn't. What version of XP Pro are you using? Original, SP1, SP2?

Fro
April 12th, 2006, 11:30 PM
Great news guys. This latest build seems to have fixed all the problems.

I am now able to edit and render all my video files without VRD crashing and the edited files play, FF, and RW with no problems using the PureVideo decoder.

Thanks again for all your help in resolving this issue.

It can't be said enough, you guys gave a great product and excellent support.