Default "Save In" Folder

Rau

Member
I can't figure out how VRD elects what folder to initially present in the "save in" box at the top of the Queue to Batch screen. But the process seems to have no merit. I'm currently seeing it persistently default to a folder that I used some while (a few days) ago.

I often edit a sequence files for which the outputs will all be saved to the same folder. But for every file, I have to navigate to the output folder I want (or pick it from the "Recent Folders" drop down.

It would seem more logical to default to the last folder used for a save operation. Sure it won't always be right, but the current behaviour will never be useful.:confused:
 
Last edited:

Dan203

Senior Developer
Staff member
We keep separate "last used" records for each operation. So the default "save in" folder should correspond to the last folder you used when queuing something to batch. However, with v4, there is an exception. Each profile can have it's own default save directory. So when the Save dialog is launched if the default selected profile has a default save directory that will automatically be loaded as the start location instead of the last used directory.

Dan
 
Last edited:

Rau

Member
Hmmm...I guess all I can observe is that it's "not working" for me. Despite performing repetitive tasks, the system does not seem to make a reasonable choice.

You mention the "default selected profile". I notice the profile seems to default (for me) to .mpg. It would be good if changing the selected profile would cause the system to re-select an appropriate 'save-in' folder (if the user has not explicitly set it).

Can I change the 'default profile'?
 

phd

Super Moderator
You can set the default file save format.
Tools>Options>General Parameters
 

Dan203

Senior Developer
Staff member
In v4 there is no default file type. The only two options are to have it default to the last used profile or for it to automatically select a profile which is the closest match to the source file.

However each profile can have a default save location. To set that up you have to go to Tools->Edit profiles list, select a profile, click Edit and the select a "Default Directory". After doing that any time you select that profile in the Save dialog it will automatically change the location to the selected directory.

Dan
 

JMRDV

Member
Where does VRD store these values? I am in 5.1.2.740 and no matter what i put in the profile editor and save it does just goes somewhere random. I tried an uninstall and reinstall already.
 
Top Bottom