how to remove extra beta versions

rocket777

Member
I had a problem that was solved when support sent me a link to an alpha version. I now have 3 versions on my system.

Each of the 3 has it's own folder in "program files(86)" and each has a separate start menu folder. However, each appears to share the registry entries and also the application data area.

What is the safe way to remove, say, the middle version of the 3 (first is official install, 2nd is a beta that I don't need, third is a working alpha). Can I use the uninstall shortcut in that version's start menu, and not affect the other 2 versions?
 

Dan203

Ex-Senior Developer
If you uninstall it will remove the registry entries but it will not remove any custom profiles or menu templates that are stored in My Documents.

There is a feature in Tools->Options_>Start up that will allow you to export all your settings to XML. What you can do is export them before doing the uninstall then restore them after you're done.

In the future if you plan to keep multiple versions active go to the install folder for each version and rename the VRD_REGISTRY.INI.sample to just VRD_REGISTRY.INI, then edit it in a text editor to point to a unique location. That will make it so each version has it's own unique registry section as well so they will be completely independent.
 

rocket777

Member
Ok thanks, that jogged my memory, Just to be sure...

Doesn't this .ini file need to be in the target directory PRIOR to installing or it would still overwrite the older registry settings - which means I would have to create the folder manually in program files (x86), copy in the .ini (and edit it) and then install into this new directory.

Also, when you save the settings to xml from one version, will that xml load in a later version? What about new and/or changed settings? Are these files designed to be "forwards compatible", or only between closely related versions?
 

Dan203

Ex-Senior Developer
The INI is read at program launch and determines where the program looks for and writes new settings to. The first time you launch after changing the INI it will be like installing from scratch and you will have to run the start wizard again.

Exporting the settings XML will save the entire registry tree. Right now you're running multiple version on the same tree, so you may already be experiencing some conflict between versions. Although in most cases we try to change the names of settings if their function changes significantly so this shouldn't be common, but it can happen. If you export the current tree you will be taking a snapshot of the current settings and applying them to the version you restore them in, so it may contain some settings which don't apply to the current version but in most cases those settings will be ignored. If you experience any issues then you may want to try resetting the settings to default just to see if the issue clears up so you can rule out a conflict.
 
Top Bottom